#1 Denver Post Bestselling Author Samuel Marquis launches New Historical WWII Novel Spies of the Midnight Sun based on Overlooked Resistance Women War Heroes

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

SpiesBookCoverDENVER, Colo. – Bestselling historical fiction author Samuel Marquis is releasing Book 3 of his World War Two Series, “Spies of the Midnight Sun: A True Story of WWII Heroes” (Mount Sopris Publishing, May 29, 2018). The novel is the true story of overlooked Norwegian female Resistance operatives Dagmar Lahlum and Annemarie Breien and legendary British spy Eddie Chapman as they grappled to defeat the Nazi regime in Occupied Norway. Based on detailed historical research and Marquis’s award-winning narrative style, “Spies of the Midnight Sun” is the perfect read for fans of WWII history, historical fiction, and heroic women neglected by history.

Spies of the Midnight Sun” is the true story of legendary British safecracker and spy Eddie Chapman, the British Double Cross Spy System, and Norwegian female Resistance operatives Dagmar Lahlum and Annemarie Breien. Known as Agent Zigzag, the most remarkable double agent of WWII, the fearless and roguishly handsome Chapman fell in love with and spied alongside the stunning 20-year-old model Dagmar Lahlum in Occupied Norway. Based upon recently released historical records from British and Norwegian archives, this WWII adventure and romance tale illuminates for the first time the intimate relationship between the two spy-lovers as well as the wartime exploits of Lahlum, Breien, and the Norwegian Resistance to liberate Norway and combat the Gestapo’s bloodhound investigator, Siegfried Fehmer. The contributions of Dagmar Lahlum and Annemarie Breien to the Allied war effort are many and incontrovertible—and yet history has never properly recognized these courageous Resistance women for their achievements. Until now. This book is their story and the story of the colorful Eddie Chapman in their efforts to defeat the Nazis.

SPIES OF THE MIDNIGHT SUN: A TRUE STORY OF WWII HEROES
Samuel Marquis | May 29, 2018 | Mount Sopris Publishing
Paperback ISBN: 978-1-943593-23-1 | Ebook ASIN: 978-1-943593-24-8
Historical Fiction


About The Author

The ninth great-grandson of legendary privateer Captain William Kidd, Samuel Marquis is the bestselling, award-winning author of a World War Two Series, the Nick Lassiter-Skyler International Espionage Series, and historical pirate fiction. His novels have been #1 Denver Post bestsellers, received multiple national book awards (Foreword Reviews Book of the Year, American Book Fest Best Book, USA Best Book, Beverly Hills, Next Generation Indie, Colorado Book Awards), and garnered glowing reviews from #1 bestseller James Patterson, Kirkus, and Foreword Reviews (5 Stars). Book reviewers have compared Marquis’s WWII thrillers “Bodyguard of Deception” and “Altar of Resistance” to the epic historical novels of Tom Clancy, John le Carré, Ken Follett, Herman Wouk, Daniel Silva, and Alan Furst. His website is www.samuelmarquisbooks.com.

 



The WWII Series

BODYGUARD OF DECEPTION (March 2016)
– Amazon Top 40 Bestseller – Historical Thriller
– Winner Foreword Reviews Book of the Year
– Award-Winning Finalist USA Best Book Awards

Can the American and British Allies stop a vaunted German spymaster and his U-boat-commander brother from warning Hitler’s High Command about the Allies’ greatest military secret? It is a secret that could win the war for Germany–or, at the very least, delay the outcome for years with an inestimable cost in bloodshed, physical destruction, and suffering. And it is a secret that the two contentious brothers must grapple with within their own Wehrmacht ranks, as they bring U.S. and British intelligence to their knees on America’s doorstep with the clock to D-Day ticking down. From a U-boat on the frigid North Sea to a brutal British interrogation center in heart of London to a remote German-POW camp and the world-famous Broadmoor Hotel overlooking the high plains and snow-dusted mountain peaks of Colorado, “Bodyguard of Deception” will keep you guessing until the final chapter. (ISBN 978-1943593125)

ALTAR OF RESISTANCE (January 2017)
– Amazon Top 40 Bestseller – Historical Thriller
– Award-Winning Finalist Foreword Rev. Book of the Year,
– American Book Fest Best Book Awards, and Beverly Hills Book Awards

In this second thriller in the bestselling WWII Trilogy, the Eternal City of Rome during the Nazi Occupation of 1943-1944 is a besieged city. In this perilous wartime setting, Rome is a tinderbox of four conflicting parties: the Allies—represented by Major John Bridger of the American-Canadian First Special Service Force—trying to capture Rome as the first Axis prize of war but encountering stiff opposition; the Germans—represented by Waffen-SS Colonel Wilhelm Hollmann, the German father of John Bridger—trying to throw the Allies back into the sea while holding Rome hostage and using it as a staging ground and supply line to the front; Pope Pius XII, deeply involved in the plot to remove Hitler from power while struggling to maintain Vatican impartiality, mediate between the West and Nazi Germany, save Rome from destruction, and protect the city’s Jews and others from extermination; and finally, the Partisans represented by Teresa Hollmann, the colonel’s daughter and half-sister of John Bridger, who during the German Occupation is transformed from a passive member of Rome’s aristocracy to an active Resistance fighter. (ISBN 978-194359303)



Talking Points

  • Researching WWII history and developing a narrative recounting the real history
  • Overlooked women in WWII history and the Allied Resistance Movement in Europe
  • How the author learned about the real-life Dagmar Lahlum, Eddie Chapman, and Annemarie Breien, the three heroes of the book, and decided to write about them
  • How each of Marquis’s WWII novels cover different time periods during the war

Praise for Samuel Marquis

  • Denver Post Bestselling Author
  • Foreword Reviews Book of the Year Winner
  • Beverly Hills Books Awards Winner & Award-Winning Finalist
  • Next Generation Indie Book Awards Winner & Award-Winning Finalist
  • American Book Fest-USA Best Book Award-Winning Finalist
  • Colorado Book Awards Award-Winning Finalist

“The Coalition has a lot of good action and suspense, an unusual female assassin, and the potential to be another ‘The Day After Tomorrow’ [the runaway bestseller by Allan Folsom].” —James Patterson, #1 ‘New York Times’ Bestselling Author

“Altar of Resistance’ is a gripping and densely packed thriller dramatizing the Allied Italian campaign…reminiscent of Herman Wouk’s ‘The Winds of War.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Marquis is a student of history, always creative, [and] never boring….A good comparison might be Tom Clancy.” —Military.com

“In his novels ‘Blind Thrust’ and ‘Cluster of Lies,’ Samuel Marquis vividly combines the excitement of the best modern techno-thrillers, an education in geology, and a clarifying reminder that the choices each of us make have a profound impact on our precious planet.” —Ambassador Marc Grossman, Former U.S. Under Secretary of State

“‘The Coalition’ starts with a bang, revs up its engines, and never stops until the explosive ending….Perfect for fans of James Patterson, David Baldacci, and Vince Flynn.”—Foreword Reviews

“A combination of ‘The Great Escape,’ ‘Public Enemies,’ a genuine old-time Western, and a John Le Carré novel.” —BlueInk Review (for “Bodyguard of Deception,” Book 1 of WWII Series)

“‘The Coalition’ by Samuel Marquis is a riveting novel by an uncommonly gifted writer. This is the stuff from which blockbuster movies are made! Very highly recommended.” —Midwest Book Review – The Mystery/Suspense Shelf

“Readers looking for an unapologetic historical action book should tear through this volume.” —Kirkus Reviews (for “Bodyguard of Deception”)

“Cluster of Lies’ has a twisty plot that grabs hold from the beginning and never let’s go. A true page turner! I’m already looking forward to the next Joe Higheagle adventure.” —Robert Bailey, Author of “The Professor” and “Between Black and White”

“If you haven’t tried a Samuel Marquis novel yet, ‘The Fourth Pularchek’ is a good one to get introduced. The action is non-stop and gripping with no shortage of surprises. If you’re already a fan of the award-winning novelist, this one won’t disappoint.”—Dr. Wesley Britton, Bookpleasures.com (Crime & Mystery) – 5-Star Review

“Marquis is the new Follett, Silva, and Clancy rolled into one.” —Prof. J.R. Welch, Editor of “Dispatches from Fort Apache”

“With ‘Blind Thrust,’ ‘Cluster of Lies,’ and his other works, Samuel Marquis has written true breakout novels that compare favorably with—and even exceed—recent thrillers on the ‘New York Times’ Bestseller List.”—Pat LoBrutto, Former Editor for Stephen King and Eric Van Lustbader (Bourne Series)

“Samuel Marquis picks up his World War II trilogy with ‘Altar of Resistance,’ a well-researched and explosive ride through war-torn Rome with Nazis, booming battles, and intense cat-and-mouse chases….Grounded in historical fact but spiced up with thrilling imagination with the fate of the world in balance.” —Foreword Reviews

“Reminiscent of ‘The Day of the Jackal’…with a high level of authentic detail. Skyler is a convincing sniper, and also a nicely conflicted one.” —Donald Maass, Author of “Writing 21st Century Fiction” (for “The Coalition”)

“Marquis writes quite well, but his real contribution with ‘Blackbeard: The Birth of America’ is historical….An engrossing and historically grounded yarn.”
—Kirkus Reviews

“In ‘Cluster of Lies,’ Samuel Marquis touches all the bases. He starts with a murder and the action doesn’t let up until the very last page in this compelling environmental thriller that is often uncomfortably realistic.” —Charles Salzberg, Author of “The Henry Swann Detective Series

“In the richness of the texture of his material, Marquis far exceeds the stance of a mere raconteur and entertainer of the masses—he, in fact, becomes a public historian.”—Lois C. Henderson, Bookpleasures.com (Crime & Mystery) – 5-Star Review

 

www.JKSCommunications.com
237 Old Hickory Blvd., Suite 201, Nashville, TN 37221
Ellen Whitfield
(616) 258-5537
ellen@jkscommunications.com